MENU

Guide to NYC in the Summer

If you are looking for things to do in New York this summer take a look at these sites for some of the best ideas in town!

ART

Brooklyn Museum of Art www.brooklynmuseum.org
Frick Collection www.frick.org
Guggenheim Museum www.guggenheim.org
International Center of Photography www.icp.org
Isamu Noguchi Garden and Museum www.noguchi.org
Metropolitan Museum of Art www.metmuseum.org
Museum for African Art www.africanart.org
Museum of Modern Art www.moma.org
Neue Galerie New York www.neuegalerie.org
New York Arts Magazine www.nyartsmagazine.com
New Museum of Contemporary Art www.newmuseum.org
P.S. 1 www.ps1.org
Rubin Museum of Art of the Himalayas www.rmanyc.org
Studio Museum in Harlem www.studiomuseum.org

DANCE

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater www.alvinailey.org
American Ballet Theater www.abt.org
Brooklyn Academy of Music www.bam.org
Dance Theater Workshop www.dtw.org
Dance Theatre of Harlem www.dancetheatreofharlem.org
Joyce Theater www.joyce.org
Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts www.lincolncenter.org
Martha Graham Center for Contemporary Dance www.marthagrahamdance.org
Merce Cunningham Dance Company www.merce.org
New York City Ballet www.nycballet.com
Paul Taylor Dance Company www.ptdc.org
Performance Space 122 www.ps122.org
Tribeca Performing Arts Center www.tribecapac.org
Twyla Tharp and Dancers www.twylatharp.org

FAMOUS PLACES IN NYC

CBS Studios www.cbs.com
Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty http://www.nps.gov/elis
Empire State Building www.esbnyc.com
Grand Central Terminal www.grandcentralterminal.com
NBC Studios www.nbc.com
New York City’s official site (click on “Visitors” on the top) www.nyc.gov
New York Public Library www.nypl.org
Rockefeller Center www.rockefellercenter.com
Statue of Liberty www.statueofliberty.org
Statue of Liberty Earth Camera www.earthcam.com/usa/newyork/statueofliberty
TV Show Tapings www.nycvisit.com
United Nations www.un.org

FILM

American Museum of the Moving Image www.movingimage.us
Films at Bryant Park www.bryantpark.org
Museum of Modern Art Film Series (click on MoMa Film and Media) www.moma.org
New York Magazine (click on Movies at the top) www.newyorkmetro.com
Pioneer Theater-Independent Cinema www.twoboots.com/pioneer

FREE/INEXPENSIVE THINGS TO DO

Central Park Summer Stage www.summerstage.org
Films in Bryant Park www.bryantpark.org
Metropolitan Opera in Central Park www.metoperafamily.org
New York Shakespeare Festival www.publictheater.org
New York Magazine Cheap Guide (look on the left for Cheap Tickets, Museum Math, Free TV Tapings, Free Film Screenings and Free Walking Tours) www.nymag.com/guides/cheap
About.com New York City Summer Event Guide www.manhattan.about.com

MUSEUMS

American Museum of Natural History www.amnh.org
Asia Society www.asiasociety.org
El Museo del Barrio www.elmuseo.org
Jewish Museum of New York www.jewishmuseum.org
Lower Eastside Tenement Museum www.tenement.org
Museum of the City of New York www.mcny.org
Museum of the Moving Image www.movingimage.us
Museum of TV and Radio www.mtr.org
National Museum of the American Indian - Smithsonian Institution (make sure you are looking at the NYC listings) americanindian.si.edu
New-York Historical Society www.nyhistory.org
New York Magazine www.newyorkmetro.com

MUSIC

Jazz in New York www.ny.com/clubs/jazz
Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts www.lincolncenter.org
New York Magazine www.newyorkmetro.com
Tribeca Performing Arts Center www.tribecapac.org

SPORTS/OUTDOORS

Chelsea Piers Sports & Entertainment Complex www.chelseapiers.com
Central Park Activities www.centralparknyc.org
Madison Square Garden www.thegarden.com
National Park Service www.nps.gov
New York City Department of Parks & Recreation www.nycgovparks.org
New York Mets newyork.mets.mlb.com
New York Yankees newyork.yankees.mlb.com

THEATER

Central Park Summer Stage www.summerstage.org
Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts www.lincolncenter.org
New York Magazine www.newyorkmetro.com
New York Shakespeare Festival www.publictheater.org
Performance Space 122 www.ps122.org
Public Theater www.publictheater.org
Tribeca Performing Arts Center www.tribecapac.org